7 Stages of Guilt - Pain & Guilt

7 Stages of Grief – Pain & Guilt

Undoubtedly it is difficult to navigate the experience of the loss of someone you love.  As time progresses you must adapt and adjust to each new stage of sadness and pain.  Knowing the 7 signs of grief may help ease some of feelings of being overwhelmed.  It is also important to acknowledge that everyone’s experience is personal and each stage can be interpreted differently depending on the individual. 

The second stage- Pain & Guilt

As the numbness and the initial shock of the loss of your loved one wears off, it is replaced with suffering and indescribable pain.  This pain is overwhelming and seems impossible to endure, but it is important that you experience and acknowledge this pain.  Do not try to hide it or self-medicate with drugs or alcohol.

You also may start experiencing guilty feelings or regret over things that you did not do with or say to your loved one.  These feelings of both pain and guilt can be scary and chaotic.     

Examples of emotions during this stage of grief:

  • Sadness
  • Guilt
  • Desperation
  • Betrayed

Leave a Reply 0 comments

> More Comments

We appreciate your interest in this topic
In accordance with our policy, this
message has been declined.